Author Archives: Ann Aubry

Lost your changes? “Auto Draft” to the rescue

OmniUpdate automatically saves your work in the background while you edit, without your hitting “save.”

If you lose your changes, you have up to 24 hours to return to the page and recover them. Simply access your page from the browser where you were previously working, hit the life-preserver icon (click “OK” to restore saved content), and you’re saved!

Read more

 

 

 

Using Tables

An easy way to use tables on your pages is with one of our predefined “snippets.” These  can be found by clicking on the snippet icon (on the second row of your toolbar, second from the right).

Select category “tables,” then under “snippet” you can choose from right, center or left alignment.

Our predefined tables come with alternating beige- & white-shaded rows.

You can replace the sample text and delete or add columns or rows as needed. Click on the table after it’s inserted, then you can select any of the icons in the bottom row of your toolbar to edit it. Hovering over an icon will bring up text with its function, such as deleting, inserting, merging or splitting rows or columns.

The far-left icon provides a dialog box with overall table properties, such as padding. I like to use cell padding  of about 7 px so there’s a buffer between the table contents and other elements surrounding it.

You can also see OU documentation about tables or watch their tutorial (and feel free to search around their site for other helpful resources).

 

Send to User

OmniUpdate allows you to send a page to another user for review before publishing.

If you have been set up with an approver, instead of a “publish now” button, you will have the option to “send for approval.” You can select your approver from a drop-down menu of OmniUpdate users.

user drop-down

Select “send external email” and they’ll receive an email with a link to your page, where they can either revert your changes, approve the page, edit it, or send it back to you for more editing. They will have the option of sending you an email notification of their action from within the system.

Even if you don’t have an approver, you can send a page to another user in a similar way. The system will include a link in the email where they can preview an unpublished page within OmniUpdate.

Be aware, however, that sending a page will check it out to the user until they take action. Only administrators can cancel this checkout (a note to admins: this can be done under the Admin/Checked Out Content tab, not at the Content/Pages file listing.)

Checked Out Content

Regardless of how you manage your workflow, it’s a good practice to check your pages back in when you’re finished editing. Publishing a page will automatically check it back in, but saving it will not.

You can click on the “Dashboard” tab, then “Current Projects” to see the  list of files checked out to you. They can be checked back in by clicking on the status icon.

 

Scheduled Publish and Reminder Options

Among the efficiency-enhancing features in OmniUpdate are scheduling options. You can schedule a page to be published at a future date and time, within 15-minute intervals. 

After editing a page, instead of “publish now,” you can select “schedule.”

publish screen

You will have the option of having the system send you an email notification when the page has been published. This email will include a link to the published page.

You can also schedule a reminder to update a page by clicking on the alarm clock icon next to the file name on the “Pages” screen.

alarm clock

You can use this feature to prompt yourself to update content if you reference timely information that will expire days, weeks or months from now. Now I can remind myself once a year to update President Wilson’s biography indicating the number of years he has served at Illinois Wesleyan.

setup

Also, a “Stale Reminder” lets you send a message to review content if a page hasn’t been edited for a designated period of time. (This “clock” will be reset if an asset within the page is updated and published.)

Both types of reminders can be sent to yourself or all the users in a selected group.