Student creative writing winners announced


Winner: Nicole Vavalle

This year’s judge, Jeremy M. Davies, chose Nicole Vavalle as the winner of the Babbitt’s Prize for Short Fiction for her short story “Forsaken,” praising Vavalle for “understanding that the battle is always fought on the level of the sentence. Hers twist and turn and often end up in surprising places, and she isn’t afraid to get her hands dirty in the process.” Vavalle will receive $50 cash and $50 in store credit from Babbitt’s Books in downtown Normal, Illinois. Honorable mention went to junior Mari Fike. Jeremy M. Davies, who is an editor at Dalkey Archive Press, is the author of the novel Rose Alley (Counterpath, 2009).


Winner: Stephen Whitfield

Judge Robert Archambeau selected first-year student Stephen Whitfield as winner of the Arthur William Hinners and Louise Hinners Sipfle Poetry Prize, presented by The Academy of American Poets. Archambeau noted that Whitfield’s poetry was of “consistently high quality,” and that Whitfield had “a way of making strong, sometimes startling, similes and metaphors.” Whitfield will receive $100 and a certificate from The Academy. Honorable mention went to senior Christy Spees. Archambeau is the author and editor of numerous books, including Home and Variations (Salt, 2004), a collection of poems, and Laureates and Heretics (Notre Dame, 2010), a work of criticism. He teaches English at Lake Forest College.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *