Argus staffers travel to Chicago, accept ICPA awards

On February 18-19, Argus staffers traveled to Chicago for the annual Illinois College Press Association convention—two days of sessions on layout and design, reviewing, reporting, photography, and legal issues, all presented by professionals working for Chicago-area newspapers.

Keynote speaker Ellen Warren, senior correspondent for the Chicago Tribune and a member of the Chicago Journalism Hall of Fame, encouraged students to speak up and tell people what they want. And if the answer is no, respond with “Well, what do I have to do to make it happen?” Warren, who has covered the White House and every other beat for the Tribune, said that she became legendary columnist Mike Royko’s first female legman by being aggressive. She dropped her resume off on a Sunday, leaving it with the doorman and asking him to give it to the Pulitzer Prize-winning writer. “I knew he’d be working. He’s a journalist,” she said.

At the awards banquet for college journalists and their advisers—this year representing 32 schools—The Argus was presented with six certificates and two plaques:

Honorable Mention-Editorial Cartoon—Brandon Dorn

Honorable Mention-Sports Feature—Max Brooks

3rd Place-Editorial—Eliiot Boden

2nd Place-Column, Excluding Sports—Dani Jauregui

2nd Place-News Photo—Rachel Rock

2nd Place-Other Cartoon, Strip or Panel—Sam Harris

1st Place-Other Cartoon, Strip or Panel—Kaz Frankiewicz

1st Place-Sports Column—Brett Luy

Congratulations to the winners and to the staff for all their hard work. Pictured are Hannah Griffin, Jackie Connelly, Nicole Travis, James Podrasky, and Eliot Boden.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *