Chapman wins teaching award

At this morning’s Honor’s Convocation, Professor Wes Chapman was announced as the recipient of the 2010 Kemp Foundation for Teaching Excellence Award (formerly The Pantagraph Award for Teaching Excellence). In describing his selection, Provost Beth Cunningham noted that Wes thinks of himself in unassuming terms—a department workhorse—but that he’s had a special relationship with and a positive effect on so many students since coming to IWU in 1991. Singled out was the “literary boot camp” that he takes students through as they struggle with, then master literary theory in Practical Criticism. But as his students know, all of Wes’s classes could have been cited.

For those who are counting, Wes is the sixth in a department rich with excellent teachers to win the university’s highest teaching honor (the others being Professors Pamela Muirhead, Robert C. Bray, Kathleen O’Gorman, James Plath, and Mary Ann Bushman). Congratulations, Wes!

1 thought on “Chapman wins teaching award

  1. Congratulations to Dr. Chapman! Indeed, he is a very worthy choice. I am excited to hear what kind of speech he will bring to the table for next year’s Convocation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *