New Sigma Tau Delta members inducted

On Sunday, January 25, Illinois Wesleyan’s Alpha Eta Pi chapter of Sigma Tau Delta welcomed new members at their annual induction ceremony, with Professor Wes Chapman offering opening remarks and Professor Mary Ann Bushman delivering the keynote talk.

To be invited to join Sigma Tau Delta, students not only have to be English majors or minors who have taken Practical Criticism, they also need a 3.6 GPA or better in their English courses and they have to rank within the top 35 percent of their graduating class.  In a competitive school like IWU, this is a significant accomplishment and honor, especially considering that IWU earned the Outstanding Chapter Award from the International Sigma Tau Delta Society, with the chapter’s MUSE conferences prompting the International organization to invite IWU’s STD leadership to set up a display at the International STD convention to show other chapter’s what’s possible.

New inductees Mike Whitfield (’10, left), Teresa Sherman (’09, third from left), Kaelyn Riley (’09, fifth from right), and Laura Allen (’09, fourth from right) pose with the current executive board: Leila Whitley (’09, second from left), Sarah Sherman (’09) and  Emily Franzen (’09) (in front), and (r to l) Jessica Block (’09), Linda Martin (’10), and Michelle Bourgeois (’09). Not pictured are Amanda Swanson and Amy burns, who were also invited to join, but could not attend.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *